Friday, January 27, 2012

Supreme Court sack five state governors

The Supreme Court today terminated the tenure of the Governors of Kogi, Cross River, Bayelsa, Sokoto, and Adamawa. The which was unanimously decided by a seven-member panel of supreme court judges was read out by Justice Walter Onnoghen.

In a judgment read by Justice Walter Onnoghen, the seven-member Supreme Court panel ruled that the tenure of the five Governors expired last year (May 2011) and declared their offices vacant. The Speakers of the Houses of Assembly in the five states took over as acting governors, pending the conduct of fresh elections in the states.